countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours.to what extent do you agree or disagree

It is often believed that economic success of a nation is predominantly because that country has a longer working time than its counterparts. I wholeheartedly disagree with this view because being successful economically does not only depend on the hours of working, but also on whether a person’s salary could meet their living standards or not.

To explain, long working hours do not always result in the economic growth of a nation. Take Southeast Asian nations, for example; their restaurants, buildings, and services usually open late until midnight, some even open 24/7. This means that the average working time for people there is generally longer than that of residents of other nations. However, their economy is not as developed as that of other European and American nations, proving that longer working hours are not the primary reasons for economic development.

In fact, in order to assess if a country is thriving or not, the salary in comparison with the living standards should be evaluated. This is because the salary directly reflects the country’s economy. In developed nations, citizens’ salaries are usually higher than those in developing ones. For example, software developers can earn around $1000–$2000 in Vietnam monthly, but they can earn up to $10,000 if employed in America. The wide discrepancy in earnings allows individuals to cover their living expenses and save money for other demands at the same time. Those opposed to this would mention the high living costs in developed regions. Nevertheless, when comparing the salary with the living standards of each person, it is easy to notice that despite the higher cost of living, each person can still use the money earned to travel to Asian countries, where the fees are much cheaper for holidays. Meanwhile, someone with a monthly income of $1000–$2000 can hardly pay the expenses for traveling to Europe or America.

In conclusion, not all nations with longer working hours have a more successful economy compared to those with fewer working hours because economic growth often relies on a person’s income compared to their living standards.