countries with long average working hours are economically more successful than those countries which do not work long hours.to what extent do you agree or disagree

Some believe that there is a linear trend between the number of hours spent at work in a day and the country’s economic status. Although this argument sounds reasonable, more work alone does not result in greater success.

To some extent, longer working hours means greater economic success because people are devoting more time to their work. More products would be produced if the workers spent more time on the factory assembly lines, and with all the extra products being sold, there would be an increase in profit. Moreover, longer working hours among scientists means that they may be able to invent new technologies at a faster pace, which again leads to economic success. China, for example, is a country with long working hours, and they are also one of the countries that experience a fast growth over the years, which demonstrates that there are instances where the average time spent working does result in success.

It is very important to let the workers maintain a healthy work-life balance, or else there will be a decrease in the number of workers in the work field. Working over time and being in high stress conditions could cause both mental and physical problems to the workers. These illnesses would stop them from working. Therefore there would be less people that are able to contribute to the studies, causing a country to be less productive, and thus have less income.

I believe that when all workers are under a healthy environment when certain rests are guaranteed, longer working hours would promote economic success because more products are being produced, and they are more likely to invent new items.