Creative artists should always be given the freedom to express their own ideas (in words, pictures, music or film) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that artists should not be framed by governments into limits of expressing their thoughts in writing, drawing, singing or acting. I disagree with this opinion because any form of art should preserve the values of the culture in society and nobody should be hurt due to someone’s ideas which should be controlled by the government.

The culture of the country ought to be preserved and transmitted to the next generation of the country to maintain the dignity and uniqueness of a nation. This responsibility is mainly focused on artists who can hand over the culture to the next generation without damaging its values. By contrast, some artistic creations such as music videos, commercials and films account for harming traditional values of society. For instance, some cartoons which are telecast for children in the peak time of the day spoil children’s minds with unacceptable dressing styles and behaviours. These types of programs should be restricted by the government.

Art should make everyone happy, and it should not be a root to make someone disappointed. In other words, if a group of people are hurt due to a picture, song, speech or film it is the responsibility of the government to ban it because it may cause detrimental social issues in a country. For example, when a film consists of a part which cannot be tolerated by people who believe in a particular religion, it can be the reason for contradictions and fights among different religious groups.

In conclusion, although artists need the freedom to express their ideas to society there should be self-discipline rules and regulations in a country to save the culture of the country and ensure peace and harmony in society.