Crime is a growing problem on a global scale. Some think that crime prevention rather than punishment is the key to solve the problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, offences are a serious problem all over the world. Some individuals truly believe that unlawful acts prevention is a key point of combating these issues. I do support this idea as strict laws and deterrent consultations may prevent people from committing crimes.

Firstly, having strict laws related to some major crimes can protect civilians from law-breakers. The governments should impose tough rules in order to reduce the number of wrongdoers and illegal acts, and defend citizens. A good illustration for this is Norway, where there are only 1 000 prisoners in all parts of the country, which demonstrates that conscious society and obeying rules may create the proper surroundings. Hence, if a particular country has harsh regulations, the population is expected to follow them and create a peaceful environment for all communities.

Secondly, nowadays, a lot of modern countries have a deterrent system in educational institutions, especially with troubled teenagers. I am sure that such types of conversations may help police workers to reduce the number of juvenile criminals and protect civilians from wrongdoers. According to statistics, countries which have prevention sessions in the educational system on a regular basis reduced criminal actions among people under 25. Thus, authorities care for the younger generation and try to provide an appropriate society for them.

In conclusion, nevertheless a lot of people think that prevention can not decrease the number of criminals. I am confident that strict laws and a deterrent system play a crucial role in lowering crime rates.