Crime rates will fall as advances in technology and help to detect and prevent crime. To what extend do you agree or disagree

There is a belief that the advancement in technology tend to result in the reduction of crime. I totally agree with this viewpoint due to the application of devices such as CCTV cameras, which can enable individuals to reduce the risk of a crime. However, this may increase the other types of crime causing the rise of overall crime rates. The essay will initially discuss the elimination of particular crimes by the usage of devices as well as the increase in other kinds of illegalty will also be demonstrated.

Admittedly, despite the main benefits, application of technology is likely to be used in wrong ways that can give a rise to diverse crimes. For instance,online fraud, identity theft and cyber bullying are the kind of prevalent crimes that is leaving the lives of individuals in danger. . By stealing the indispensable data of a specific profile of an individual, not only their personal identity can be revealed, but also particular amount of budget from their bank account may be stolen. According to the data shown in the “Time” magazine, over 100 million soums have been claimed to be stolen from the local bank. Besides,more and more these types of crimes are mentioned to being committed recently, and tackling them is becoming quite challenging.

Nevertheless, the ubiquitous usage of technology can have a great impact on the reduction of a crime. Take CCTV cameras for example,which are being utilized almost everywhere,(in the markets,hospitals,school buildings and museums) that are likely to be a key solution for the prevention of a crime. These advanced cameras have significantly reduced illegalty in many countries, such as in England, it is reported that, after the installation of cameras, the risk of a crime in that country had fallen by 60%.

In conclusion it is true that the advances in technology can exacerbate other kinds of crimes by using it in wrong ways. However, I believe that,by the prevalent application of gadgets including advanced CCTV cameras, it is likely that this issue can somehow be prevented worldwide.