Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is obvious that riding a bike is a greater way to prevent our environment from being polluted than other kinds of transport; however, not many people prefer moving by this vehicle. This essay will discuss the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon.

Danger and inconvenience are the two main causes resulting in bikes’ failure to achieve popularity. Regarding the former, most people suppose cycling to require physical and mental effort. This overexertion can lead beginners, who don’t get used to riding bicycles, to health problems such as muscle strains, dehydration, etc. Concerning the latter, when it comes to workers, going to work by bike is surely not an ideal method because it’s extremely time-consuming. The speed of bicycles is undoubtedly slow compared to those of cars and motorcycles, which may cause them to be unpunctual for appointments in companies, especially in cities where there is a large amount of traffic congestion.

Various measures, nevertheless, can be implemented by governments and individuals to tackle the issue. The first possible approach the government can put into practice is launching campaigns. By this way, citizens are not only encouraged to utilize bikes to protect our habitats from pollution but also acknowledge the importance of how the environment affects our health. The second solution is building a good public transportation system. If the facilities upgraded, people are likely to have an inclination to make more use of public vehicles

In conclusion, the two most significant problems linked to the choice of means of transport are hazard and discomfort. However, a collective effort is needed to mitigate these issues.