Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road cause some problems. What are the problems? What are the solutions?

These days, in some countries, cyclists and car drivers still commute on the same road. This trend has some drawbacks, and I will give explanations and suggest some solutions to reduce the negative effects it has in this essay.

Bikes and cars running together on one road have several problems. The first issue is that it may increase the risk of traffic accidents. For instance, when a drunken driver commutes on the road, they may step on the accelerator unintentionally instead of pressing the brake. This makes the car go faster, so the cyclists could not be aware of the dangerous situations resulting in the collision between the car and bicycle. Another problem of driving cars and bikes on the same road is that it could affect human health. In the modern world, despite having electronic cars, there are still numerous cars that run on fossil fuels or gases. These vehicles emit lots of exhaust fumes into the air, which is the main contributor to some human respiratory problems such as chest infections and lung cancer.

There are some possible solutions that the authorities could do to tackle these issues. Firstly, they should implement new driving rules for car drivers, such as imposing a pecuniary penalty for drunk driving and limiting the maximum speed of cars when driving on the road. In Vietnam, for example, drunken drivers will be fined huge money, which is around 100 to 200 dollars. As a result, the number of accidents between cars and bikes decreases remarkably. Secondly, the governments should encourage people to use eco-friendly vehicles like electric cars, which do not discharge any toxic smoke into the atmosphere. This will prevent people from some lung-related problems, such as pneumonia and bronchitis.

In conclusion, car drivers and cyclists riding on the same road have two major problems. However, there are also two solutions to solve these issues.