Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road causes some problems. What are the problems and what can be done to reduce them. Explain in 250 words

It is extremely common that bicycles and cars use the same road. This situation causes two problems, namely the rising road accidents and the suffering from respiratory diseases for cyclists. This essay will not only delve into those problems but also will offer two solutions, namely governments should construct special lanes for bikes and they should also encourage people to use electric cars more.

Firstly, in fact, sharing the road between bicyclists and car drivers leads to several accidents. The speed of two vehicles which creates difficulty for car drivers are truly different. For example, according to the statistics of the police in HaNoi, around 25% of accidents are caused by cars and bicycles. The second problem is causing negative effects on the health of cyclists. A large amount of dust and smoke emitted by cars into the environment, and cyclists, who did not have protective equipment, are victims of those toxic fumes. For instance, the European Respiratory Society has estimated carbon emissions in the body of cyclists is twice as high as those of car drivers. According to what I discussed above, the two notable problems are a significant increase of traffic accidents and declining health of cyclists.

Secondly, there are two effective solutions to the problem of using the same lanes. On the one hand, governments would invest to divide lanes for types of vehicles or even construct dedicated bike routes. These lanes eliminate some inconvenience of those two types of vehicles, car riders may travel quickly with wide lanes while cyclists might ride and enjoy the fresh air. On the other hand, we need to encourage people to use electric cars more. Those eco-friendly vehicles activate with clean energy, they do not emit toxic substances into the environment. As a result, cyclists do not inhale dust from cars and lead to reduced risk of respiratory diseases.

In conclusion, when car drivers and bikers share the same roadway, it results in more road accidents and the deterioration of the cyclist’s health. Fortunately, two possible methods have been proposed to deal with these phenomenons, namely building separate roads for bicycles and encouraging the use of electric vehicles.