Describe the environment in which you were raised and the impact it has had on the person you are today

My mom has been telling me «it’s okay to be average» since I was born. Because not everyone has to be extraordinary or a genius, right?

I was born in an ordinary family, my mother worked as a teacher and my father was a foreman in the aircraft factory. Before I was five, I was the apple of my parent’s eye – they were raising me with pure love. My mom kept saying «it’s okay to be average» and it meant that I don’t need to be someone special to be loved

But everything changed when my little brother was born. Older daughters can relate to this change – when you feel like you’ve became a minor character and noone notices you anymore. Since that moment I’ve lost my parents attention and any acts of love. But there was one permanent thing in my life – mom’s phrase about being average. However, now it meant that I’m not that kid in our family to snatch stars from the sky. So that made me mad enough to find strength to fight back and prove, that I want and I am able to be that person.

Most of my life I have spent on achieving and trying to be best of the best. Perhaps, it is not the best way to raise a daughter in the competitive environment. Nevertheless I’m glad for everything and for all chances, that I’ve gotten in my life due to my determination and hard work. My parents don’t know it, but they taught me how to find strength in myself. Their main advice, that I’ve gotten through my childhood and which still leads me at 19, was «you need to make an effort to become the person you want or you will lose this war»