Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

Even though education is widely available, many individuals today are illiterate. In my view, these people are at a disadvantage due to severe employment requirements and they may struggle with low self-esteem. To address this issue, the government can aid disadvantaged individuals by raising the awareness of the importance of education, and establishing organizations targeted on such vulnerable layer of society.

One of the primary issues that people with limited literacy skills have is that the employers require at least basic academic knowledge. In modern world, the ability of reading and writing is regarded as an ordinary skill, and there is no job that can offer any vacancies for people who don’t have these abilities. Thus, it is exceptionally difficult for people with low or no literacy skills to find any job. Meanwhile, they may struggle of low self-esteem and feel unfulfilled among educated society. Nowadays, in modern society where communication largely depends on written information, those who are illiterate may feel embarrassed and may have difficulties in participating civic and social life, since it requires at least basic literacy skills.

To cope with this issue, the government should educate those who are disadvantaged by raising the awareness of the education. There is no doubt that people should be informed of the benefits of being educated, and if these disadvantaged ones had been informed about it, perhaps, they could achieve something in their lives. As a result, at least it raises the possibility of people to start learning the basic literacy skills that is not only beneficial for public, but also for government itself. At the same time, government can introduce companies and organizations that will be targeted on such bracket of the society. By taking these measures, the government can raise literacy levels among residents and reap the benefits over time.

To conclude, illiterate layer of society can be at a disadvantage since most of the employers are looking for people who at least have basic academic basis, and these people may feel less confident in modern society. To tackle this issue, government can raise the awareness about the importance of education and establish targeted organizations on especially vulnerable layer of society.