Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

Education is, and has always been, the backbone of every thriving society. However, despite the improvements in education, some members of society are incapable of reading and writing. This leads to several problems for these individuals but there are also measures the government can implement to mitigate these negative effects

One obvious issue has to do with economic stability. People who lack basic literacy skills might suffer from various financial problems. In today’s capitalistic world, most of the high-paying jobs require people to have a qualification, which can only be acquired through education. And since illiterate people cannot read and write, they are unable to take conventional entrance exams to universities. Even if they get accepted to universities, without the ability to read and write, they are highly unlikely to graduate. As a result, these people have no choice but to work in blue collar jobs, which are usually associated with below-average salaries and poverty.

Daily life can also pose challenges when people are illiterate. All aspects of our lives are related to literacy in one way or another. Whether people want to read the latest news, check price tags and product details in a supermarket, or simply stay in touch with their loved ones on social media, they need to know how to read and write. Tasks that might seem straightforward for literate people can seem daunting and frustrating for those who are illiterate. To make matters worse, such individuals are often vulnerable to scammers. Fraudsters can easily deceive them into signing illegal documents that they may not understand due to their lack of literacy.

That said, the government can take some steps to stem the problem. The first solution would be adult learning programs. The education system can organize learning programs specifically tailored to the needs of adults. These programs could be designed in a way that allows adults to learn at their own pace, which can be done through online lessons. The flexibility of online lessons also mean that adults who have time constraints due to job and family commitments are able to join classes at a suitable time. Apart from that, new technologies, especially AI, can aid learning. AI can adapt lessons to each learner’s level and pace, while also analyzing performance and providing instant feedback. AI-backed lessons could be more engaging and interactive, leading to more effective lessons.

In conclusion, although a lack of literacy can result in economic hardship and complicate daily life, solutions such as adult learning programs and the use of AI can help address and prevent this issue.