Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

Nowadays, many adults lack the ability to read and write, despite improved access to education. While this inability to write and read can cause serious problems in everyday life, governments can take effective measures to prevent this issue and support adult learning.

One major disadvantage faced by illiterate adults is limited job choice. Most employers today require at least basic reading and writing skills, such as filling out a forms or reading instructions. As a result, illiterate people can only work in jobs that do not require these skills. For example, loader in a warehouse is one of the jobs that require only strenght and no literate skills are needed. However, this kind of jobs mostly have a low salary and give no chance to work after 30-40 years, due to low power productivity.

Government can play a crucial role in tackling adult illiteracy. One effective solution is providing free school education for families with low income. This can help to prevent adult illiteracy from childhood time. Moreover, providing flexible schedule for adults learning is for adults, who already work and do not have an opportunity to attend morning classes. For those government can create holiday or weekend classes, so they can attend them.

In conclusion, although there are many drawbacks that illiterate people face, there are plenty of solutions such as providing free education and flexible schedule for preventing adult illiteracy. Thus, through accessible educational programmes officials can significantly improve the quality of life for affected people.