Despite better access to education, many adults today still cannot read or write. In what ways are they disadvantaged?

In this day and age, in spite of having better chances to access education, a minority of adults are illiterate. In this essay, I will explore the disadvantages that they can struggle with and present some possible measures to tackle this issue.

It is understandable that when people cannot read and write, they will encounter some difficulties in work. One of the biggest consequences is that they are hard in search of better employment with higher income in the modern labour market. In most companies and businesses, employers require their candidates to have basic qualifications, relating to read and write literacy. Therefore, if individuals do not have these mandatory abilities, they are eliminated and just suitable for labour-intensive work. Another drawback is that illiteracy people are limited to access public services, information and healthcare in society. Due to limited language skills, they cannot make sense of instructions and official documents. As a result, they are facing difficulties in registering forms to utilize these services.

Therefore, to mitigate these disadvantages, I propose some effective solutions that the government can consider and apply to enhance the ability of reading and writing for residents. The first measure is that authorities should organise small classes that provide free and flexible adult literacy programmes. The reason is that many adults have to work, so they cannot attend to fixed schedules. If this program is widely implemented, it can help many people to acquire the basic knowledge, thereby easily exchanging their opinions and ideas in study and work. Additionally, the government also combines with public awareness programmes. This is because when people gain deeper insight into the importance of reading and writing, they are promoted and more likely to participate in education programmes.

In conclusion, limited literacy leaves people encountering to seek appropriate jobs and access public services in society. However, to deal with this situation, the government can execute education programmes combined with public awareness to enhance the ability of language literacy of residents.