Despite huge improvements in healthcare, the overall standard of physical health in many developed countries is now falling. What are the reasons for this and how can the problem be tackled?

In contemporary society, although there have been many breakthroughs in the medical field in prosperous nations, their citizens are not physically healthy enough. This essay will identify several underlying causes and provide insights into how to address this problem.

There are possible reasons leading to the deterioration of the physical well-being of those in well-developed countries. Chief of these is their financial capability, coupled with the advent of technology, causing the prevalence of digital devices such as smartphones or laptops. In economically strong nations, the average income of their civilians is always high, so they will have a substantial amount of disposable income left to cater to other needs. As a result, more and more people possess electronic devices, leading to people spending more time on screen-based activities and consequently adopting a sedentary lifestyle. This can cause serious health issues such as obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular diseases. Another main cause is the significant lifestyle change. The number of average working hours per person has increased owing to higher living standards than in the past, which leaves little to no time to have proper meals. Consequently, those whose profession is, say, doctor, will have no choice but to resort to processed food or junk food, which is undoubtedly harmful to one’s health.

To completely tackle this preventable problem, I believe the onus is on the government to mitigate the negative consequences caused by it. Firstly, the government can collaborate with local authorities to raise awareness among individuals. In underserved areas, the locals normally cannot afford formal education, resulting in a lack of understanding of factors relating to healthcare like diets, lifestyles and living environment, among countless others. Therefore, health-related campaigns can be launched with the support of governing bodies to educate people about how to lead a healthy lifestyle. Secondly, the government can subsidize medical infrastructure and healthcare programs to reduce the financial burden of the underprivileged population. With the availability of hospitals equipped with modern machines and filled with dedicated and expert doctors, more and more poor people can be cured and the overall wellness of a nation will be enhanced.

In conclusion, the citizens’ economies along with the popularity of digital gadgets and the transformation of modern lifestyles in wealthy nations are the root causes of the decline in physical well-being in general and it is the government’s responsibility to reverse this trend by applying awareness-raising methods and offering financial aid.