Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

In today’s world literacy is a huge issue which need to be addressed. Despite the availability of numerous educational centers, yet many individuals could not read or write, which will negatively affect our society.

There are many disadvantages of high illiteracy rate. Firstly, it will negatively impact country’s economic conditions. To explain, many nations need skilled people, who can work in various sectors, such as industries, hospitality and tourism, trade departments, etc., and working in these areas, one needs to be well educated. If they are unable to read and write, then authorities will fill this gap by bringing skilled workers from other places, which can cost them hugely, and negatively affect country’s wealth conditions. To solve this issue, many nations have a solid chain of educational institutes, but they have high taxation policy for their dwellers due to which people prefer to do small wages work instead of going to colleges or universities. Better for countries to reduce their taxes, especially for low income families; as a result, they will be able to get education.

Secondly, low literacy rate can create many social issues. Undoubtedly, countries who have high literacy rate, then people can easily understand the social norms, local laws and issues, and play a crucial role in making ideal society since universities not only create skilled workers but also more social groomed individuals. If we lack literacy, then people may have lack of social behavior, and they are likely to not take care of each other, which will create unharmonious society. For example, many African nations have high crimes rate which is a huge social problem, and this is due to they have low literacy rate. The probable solution would be to provide better conditions to everyone to get proper education, and give them long and comprehensive lectures on social issues.

To sum up, low education rate has many drawbacks, such as deteriorate country’s economy, as well as may create numerous social issues. To tackle down these problems, authorities need to reduce tax charges, and provide detailed lessons on social issues