Do development in technology make crime easier to detect or do they make people more vulnerable to crime? Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

Recently, the world witnesses a huge technological changes, which have a vast effect on societies in many aspects of life, one of them is criminology aspect. It is argued that technological improvements ease the detection of crimes, while others find that these changes make nominated groups at higher risk to make crimes. In my opinion, I believe that the development in technology enable us to detect crimes faster and easier than the past decades.

On the one hand, the presence of social media platforms make news spread faster than in the past, also it enables people from all parts of the world to read and hear these news. For instance, if someone killed a child in Jordan, here in Palestine we would be able to read about this or even watch it if a video is published. Moreover, improvements in the equipment used by police for investigations as well as materials and devices used in genetics labs, lessen the amount of time needed for criminal identity and reduce the number of persons who may in doubt as criminals. Which mean that this development helps the governments to achieve safer countries.

On the other hand, some people think that the recent changes in technology field make specific people in community vulnerable to make crimes. In other words, the open access to other parts of the world at any time, for all age groups have a negative impact on people’s morals. For example, adolescent considered as crucial stage of youngest’s life, because they easily influenced by others, so they may tend to try dangerous things to discover them, which may lead them to make crimes or become a drug dealers or work on drugs selling. Thus, it is very important to use this technology with cautions and under adult observation to reduce this possibles risks.

In conclusion, without a shallow of doubt, improvement in technology sector have both positive and negative effects on crime world. But I firmly believe that the positive impact overweighs the drawbacks by making crime detection process easier than in the past.