Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

In today’s developed world, it is assumed that the fast growth of advertising has received an increasing amount of attention. In my viewpoint, this trend could have benefits and drawbacks consequences in equal measures.

On the one hand, there is no denying that advertising becomes more common is able to several disadvantages. One of the main downsides is that young people are particularly susceptible. In other words, advertisers tend to emphasize product features that are likely to attract customers’ attention while at the same time downplaying side effects. This makes consumers more likely to make impulse purchases when purchasing unnecessary items. Another demerit is that sellers raise the price of their services to cover advertising costs. For example, a company that makes and sells shoes spends a lot of money on advertising and increases the price of its shoes by about 15%. Nevertheless, many customers are dissatisfied with the price and refuse to buy expensive shoes.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned drawbacks, exponential expansion of advertising can provide more important advantages. The first advantage is reducing the gap between customers and producers. Internet advertisements, for example, may accurately transmit product information to the intended audience even across borders. As a result, this type of advertisement maximizes the usefulness of conveying manufacturing information to ultimate customers. Another merit is evoking impulse buying behaviours from the public. That’s because many advertisements pop up on the Internet or on television and continuously display beautiful pictures and new products on the Internet, which can satisfy consumers’ desires instantly. As a result, people tend to spend more money to buy new things without hesitation.

In conclusion, I truly believe that although advertising is increasingly popular, the pros and cons are familiar to businesses and customers.