Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

Nowadays, advertising is becoming more and more popular around the world. While this trend has several benefits, it also comes with some notable drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are many benefits of promotion. Firstly, advertising will bridge the gap between consumers and manufacturers. For example, I intended to buy a bookshelf last week. While I was surfing social media, I saw a website sell all types of bookshelves with a reasonable price. I could contact the seller to get advice on bookshelf that fit my budget. In addition, it evokes impulse buying, boosts sales, and promotes economic development. By way of illustration, advertising companies use powerful advertising skills to attract potential consumers, like FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out). This is true for my sister, who bought some lipstick yesterday, but now she sees a store offering 50% off all lipsticks, and among them is the lipstick she likes. So she decided to buy it so as not to miss this opportunity. On the other hand, some drawbacks need to be taken into consideration. To begin with, advertising adds to the cost of products, which is bad for consumers and manufacturers. It is unfair for consumers because they do not know about the bad sides of the product. If they buy it but it is not suitable for their body, it can be a waste money for consumers. Also, this added costs reduce competition for manufacturers. Obviously, when the store only talks about the good side of the product, customers will only know the good side and not know the bad side. That makes them not know if the product is suitable or not. Finally, advertising can disrupt people’s feeling because of unwelcome information. For instance, while I was watching a movie, an advertising suddenly came on, which made me uncomfortable because I could not continue watching and had to wait.

To sum up, although the advantages of advertising bring about positive impacts, the disadvantages, such as consumers’ disatisfaction or unfairness, can also create challenges. In my opinion, the advantages of promotion outweigh its drawbacks, which makes it important to both customers and producers.