Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains popularity?

Nowadays, advertising is become more and more popular around the world. While this trend has several benefits, it also comes with some notable drawbacks, which will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are many benefits of promotion. Firstly, advertising will bridge the gap between consumers and manufacturers. For example, I intended to buy a bookshelf last week. While I surfing social media, I see a website sell all type of bookshelf with a reasonable price. I can contact directly with seller to get advice on bookshelf that fit my budget. In addition, it evokes impulse buying, boost sales, and promotes economic development. By way of illustration, edvertising companies use powerful advertising skills to attract potential consumers, like: FOMO ( Fear Of Missing Out ). This is true for my sister who bought some lipstick yesterday, but now she sees a store offering 50% off all lipsticks, and among them is the lipstick she likes. So she decide to buy it so as not to miss this opportunity. On the other hand, some drawbacks need to be taken into consideration. To begin with, promotion will add to the cost of the products, which is bad for customer and manufacturers. It is unfair for customer because they do not know about the bad side of the product. If they buy it but it not suitable for their body, it can be waste money for customer. Also, this added costs reduce the competition for a manufacturers. Obviously, when the store only talks about the good side of the product, customers will only know the good side and not know the bad side. That makes them not know if the product is suitable or not. Finally, advertising can disrupt people’s feeling because of unwelcome imformation. For instant, while I was watching a movie, and advertising suddenly came on, which made me uncomfortable because I couldn’t continue watching and had to wait.

In conclusion, while advertising is becoming more and more popular and influential in the modern world provide significant benefits, such as bridge the gap between consumers and manufacturers and evoke impulse buying, boost sales, and promote economic development, the drawback, including unwelcome imformation and add to the cost of the products, should be not overlooked. On balance, it is essential to carefully weigh both sides to ensure advertisings are not always bad, it can help people find something they need and introduction anythings or place you want.