Do you agree or disagree that celebrities are paid far too much money?

It is a well-known fact that famous people, like singers and movie stars, are paid a good fortune. Some say they are significantly overpaid. But in my perspective, I totally disagree with this opinion, for the following reasons.

First of all, most celebrities have put great effort into their careers before they get famous. They need to spend tens of thousands of hours acting, singing, and physical training to become who they are. For example, Olympic gold medal winners usually start training when they are very young and spend more than ten years in the same sports before beating 99 per cent of their competitors and winning the honour. A professional guitarist has to spend most of his days practising the chords and finger replacements. These people deserve good pay for their hard work.

Moreover, celebrities can bring significant value to companies and the entire society. For instance, the endorsement of a sports star can get a sports drink company thousands of millions of dollars in extra revenue. And many young people will start purchasing just because they see their idols appear on a TV commercial. Besides, after disasters like the 3-11 earthquake in Japan, singers and actors used their influence to start fundraising campaigns and collected millions of dollars to help the disaster-affected people. These people need to be paid what they are worth.

In conclusion, I believe celebrities are not being overpaid. They are just hard-working people who create considerable value for society. And this kind of people deserves high pay.