Do you agree or disagree that celebrities are paid far too much money? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experiences

It is argued that culture is essential for advertisement. Indeed, a successful advertisement lies in a variety of key factors, including design, slogan and so on. But the most significant one is cultural knowledge. I totally agree with this standpoint. In my view, cultural elements not only determines the popularity of this product but also influences public recognition of advertisers.

First of all, advertisements tailored to local culture attract a wider range of customers. One principle has long been held by businessmen as the key to advertisement design: consumers tend to opt for familiar and acceptable products. Whenever sellers export new series of international products, successful advertisers will inform customers of these goods through culture-based product localization, which creates a natural sense of familiarity and cultural comfort. Hence, this feeling of amenity leaves a deeper impression on buyers, increasing the probability of new purchase, thus creating a larger customer base. For example, in terms of cultural adaptation, Coca-Cola used to roll out white bottles instead of red ones for the Middle East regions. This practice turned out to achieved a exponential growth in sales, especially in Saudi Arabia. Therefore, culture plays a significant part in advertisement from the perspective of product.

Besides from the product influence, advertisement also correlates with the reputation of a business. Most individuals assume companies’ advertising departments have a sound knowledge of culture issues. Once any cultural taboos occur in advetisement, this enterprise is extremely likely to be greeted with severe criticism for their irresponsibility. Let’s say that you are a florist. If you film an advertisement with four flowers in a bunch, it may doesn’t mean anything in European countries. Yet, this advertisement could be condemned harshly in China as the number four has malicious meaning. The pronunciation of four is similar to death in Chinese characters. Accordingly, culture is the lifeblood of business.

Overall, taking full advantage of cultural elements will burnish a business and its products, while failure to heed the cultural implications will lead to a total disaster. Advertisers must fully consider the cultural context of advertisements before they post them.