Doctors are concerned that older adults are not getting enough exercise. What are the causes of this? What can be done to prevent it? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Medical professionals worry about aged people who do not exercise randomly. I am going to mention two reasons for this and give my solutions to prevent them.

There are two main reasons why the old group of society have limited activities. Firstly, elder individuals are weaker than youngs and can not bear physical activities as them. The older they are, the limited sports they can choose to do. Old people usually face some cardiovascular, respiratory and orthopedic diseases which become worse after tough exercises. Some of them may experience the status of being at danger of death after such activities. Therefore, they prefer to be inactive rather than doing running, playing football, hand ball or other heavy playings. In Iran, for example, in one study it is showed that the exercise rate in elderlies who have at least one symptom of any diseases is significantly lower than other aged individuals.

Secondly, in these ages, people are not psychologically prepare to do exercise, like to have entertainments, travelings and spending time with their families. Olders think hopelessly that their time for living is going to its end, so they worth every second to spend with joy. They believe physical activities may be waisting time.

However, there are some practical ways to tackle these problems. Doctors have so many health advices for old men and women to diminish their symptoms and have activities without any side effects. They evaluate each person health condition and suggest them to do which exercise and determine how much time they should do it. For example an old man with ischemic heart disease may be adviced by his medical doctor to do only jogging for 20 minutes after taking his cardiac drug. For older individuals who do not have enough motivation, psychologists may help them to be aware of benefits of sports on the quality of their life. Teaching these age groups to prioritise exercise for having better life can improve their understanding of this subject. Then they automatically take time for their exercise after experiencing its magnificent beneficial effects on their mind and body.

In conclusion professionals in medicine truly concern about aged men and women who avoid exercising, because of two main reasons I pointed out. But there are solutions to solve these problems.