Doctors in many countries are saying that people are not getting enough physical exercise. What are the causes of this? How it can be addressed?

We live in an age when, in most countries, doctors inform us that people tend to do less physical exercise. This trend is caused by modern technologies and a misled perception about gyms. Altogether, the government should increase the number of fitness areas in urban cities and make specific exceptions regarding payment methods for customers.

The main reason for this phenomenon is electronic devices, which have become an indispensable part of people’s daily routine. People usually use them for online study and job purposes, while others have become addicted to social media and spend hours in front of devices. As their major time is spent for online working and entertainment, they do not have time and energy to maintain a healthy lifestyle. Take for example, in the United States, 56% of people who are overweight are employed online, and they cannot solve this problem as a healthy lifestyle requires not only a correct diet, but also physical mobility.

Another reason is delusional thoughts about gyms because of social media, as aesthetic videos which promote a healthy lifestyle include gyms which cost at least 50 dollars for a subscription. Due to the non-affordable price and misleading promotion of beautiful gyms, motivation to do physical exercises has been killed.

In order to tackle this issue, the government should invest in fitness centres and make discounts for workers who work in offices and online at home, making the price suitable for everyone. So employees could integrate job and health at the same time. The Microsoft company is a great example of this phenomenon as they cover gym expenditures for workers as a reward for their hard work.

In conclusion, although the issue of a lack of physical movement is caused by online classes and jobs, this problem can be tackled by critical measures from the local authorities.