Does Internet need to be controlled by the government? Justify your answer. Write at least 250 words.

Internet has become one of the greatest invention of this century as the whole world has become a singular community with in this field. Internet has not only revolutionize this generation of people but also further the advancement of human kind into never before seen horizon. At the same time with this advancements there is bound to be many critique and voices that raises question about its boundary and how it must be controlled by the government.

I believe that internet should not be controlled by any singular entity or even the government as it has become a beacon of hope, inclusivity, and togetherness but with controlling and restricting the internet it may become more like a propaganda tool for the government to use. One of the greatest example is China and how it uses it internet to block and restrict the flow of western influence in the country. By controlling internet they are able to control the voices of people and drown out various form of opposition or voices against the government. It gives false information and develop a sense of fabricated news which only shows the government in a positive light rather than all the aspects.

We could see various benefits from the internet during the pandemic how with the help of flow of the information people were able to navigate their way through the tough times during the lockdown. We could also see when during adversity how people help not only in physically form but also virtually by providing aids and giving valuable information for the needy. Therefore internet has become our basic need and controlling and restricting our basic need may become disharmonious to the community and people.

All in all, I believe internet should not be governed or controlled by the government there can be some standard rules which can be implemented to reduce the negative and unwanted content in the internet but controlling what a person see is not an appropriate scenario.