Does Internet need to be controlled by the government? Justify your answer. Write at least 250 words.

I strongly believe that government needs to control the internet for the safety and security of citizens and to prevent cybercrimes.

The advancement in technology has made the internet easily available and affordable. Internet is now used by significant number of people on day-to-day basis for office work, educational and research purpose, for entertainment purpose and for crimes. Internet can be used by terrorists and mafia to plan an attack by accessing sensitive data of individuals For example, the unauthorised access to of sensitive information helped a group of attackers to successfully implement their plan to attack the Indian national defence academy. This caused numerous causalities and massive destruction. Sometimes, people are unaware of extend of misuse that can be done, by uploading their information on the internet, this needs to be controlled by the administration for safety purpose.

Government can help to stop the cyber crimes. There is increase in number of cyber crimes over the internet. These criminals target common people of the country. Blackmailing, phishing, and stalking are Some common cyber crimes, which can be done by using false identities of victims and by data theft. These misconducts takes place on social networking sites such as, Facebook, Instagram, snapchat, and LinkedIn. These offences are required to be addressed immediately.The administration must make strict rules to stop this. If the administration gets control over the internet and information, it will be easier for them identify and punish these criminals as soon as possible.

In conclusion, it is important for administration to have control over internet to maintain national security and for prevention of crimes.