Due to advances in technology, working from home has become more popular. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home and give your own opinion about it.

Home-based work has become prevalent due to developments in technology. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

There are two main benefits of working from home. The first of these is that this work mode is more flexible. If someone works from home, they can make their own schedule unlike being tied to office hours in a traditional job. For instance, I work online building websites and often work at night because I find this is the best time I can concentrate. Furthermore, it saves a lot of time. The reason for this is that less time is wasted in traffic to go to an office. Therefore, there is more time for non-work activities.

However, there are also drawbacks to this. The most significant is that it can be difficult to be motivated. This is because no boss is looking over the workers’ shoulders. For example, I often find I waste a lot of time surfing around the Internet because nobody can see I am doing this. Another limitation is communication between colleagues is more challenging. This is due to not meeting face-to-face and having to communicate online. This can lead to less effective communication and even misunderstanding of co-workers’ real intentions

In conclusion, the advantages of working from home are that there are fewer distractions and it saves time. The disadvantages are that it often leads to lower levels of motivation and difficulties in communication.