Due to advances in technology, working from home has become more popular. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home and give your own opinion about it.

In recent times, working from home has become more common with the progression in technology. There are numerous positive and negative consequences of the same however, I strongly believe in the former and this essay will elucidate my stance with the relevant social, economic and psychological examples.

There are diverse noted benefits of professions which do not require going to the office. To begin with, individuals are provided with a more conducive environment for enhanced productivity since they don’t have to adhere to strict timelines. For example, my uncle once worked for Amazon as the technical supervisor and was very satisfied with his job because he didn’t have to wake up early in the morning to travel otherwise he would have to since he resided in an isolated locality. Moreover, various companies find it more affordable due to the fact that they don’t have to dispense additional funds for maintenance and commutations.

Furthermore, working from home facilitated a better work life balance, allowing the workers to take care of their family and pay more attention to their well being. For instance, the flexibility of working from home offered a significant benefit to my uncle to take care of his mother. However, there are detrimental impacts on the psychological stability of a person as they are isolated and unable to socialise with the community. To illustrate, when my uncle started working for Amazon, he often felt lonely and depressed because he lost contact with all his friends.

To conclude, incorporation of this trend of working from home presents a multitude of advantages and disadvantages. But according to my perspective, it has more strengths than setbacks and thus we need to crucially navigate the balance and make the appropriate amendments.