Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The escalating crime rate presents a serious problem for to society. This can be attributed to economic and societal factors. Viable solutions to combat this problem can be sought on both the state and household levels.

The increase in involvement in criminal activity can be recorded across different age groups due to varying reasons. For example, lack of employment opportunities leading to difficulties providing for one’s life can cause people in their adolescence to commit crimes such as theft and mugging. What is more unfortunate, though, is the rise in juvenile crime. The lack of parental supervision with the unprecedented pace of modern life may expose children to dangerous activities and social circles. Moreover, children being constantly bombarded with violent scenes on television, video games, and social media can explain their involvement in violent actions.

Measures to remedy the issue of rising crime rates can be taken by both governments and parents. To elaborate, national employment schemes can help create job opportunities and decrease crime rate since a lower economic status is often linked to crime. Even those who do have previous criminal records, especially those convicted of petty crime, can be sentenced to a sort of community service to re-integrate them into the workforce and society as a whole. Parents and guardians, on the other hand, ought to minimize their children’s screen time and use versions of social media websites designed for children. By enrolling their children in sports and volunteering work, parents can also ensure their children are occupied with useful activities.

To conclude, a rise in criminal activity takes its toll on people of different ages. The reasons behind this phenomenon might vary according to the age group, and so are the possible resolutions.