Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is widely acknowledged that the crime rate rises every year in the modern era. This essay will explain two main reasons behind the problem and subsequently propose possible solutions to tackle the issue.

One primary reason for the increasing crime rate is mediocre education. This means that when societies do not have proper education, they may struggle to secure stable jobs, which can lead them to engage in criminal activities in terms of survival. To illustrate, studies show that because of inadequate education, numerous offenders in Indonesia have been involved in crimes, such as shoplifting, drug smuggling, and pickpockets due to limited education and economic factors behind their actions. Therefore, to deal with the problem, certain stakeholders must provide free education and vocational training for those who have inadequate education. These strategies are to examine how they can empower society with essential skills, leading to reducing possible crimes.

Another possible problem is the weak regulations. This is because despite having robust regulation, people are likely to evade punishment for their illegal activities by using their financial resources to influence the legal system. That is to say that when individuals, like politicians or actors, might bribe judicial officials to avoid severe penalties. This undermines the justice system and emboldens others to commit crimes, believing they can also escape if they are wealthy or have connectors. As a consequence, this phenomenon would dramatically increase would-be criminals each year. To solve the problem, policymakers must pass strict regulations to restrict criminals by imposing heavy fines and they need to be sentenced to life without parole. This effective approach is taken to ensure that everyone feels safe and avoids perpetrating a crime.

In conclusion, the crime rate has grown significantly because of inadequate education and rules. Therefore, effective measures must be taken to address the problem by giving free education and imposing heavy fines.