Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent developments ever will. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that former technology advancements are incomparable with recent developments, as they brought more advantages and altered the lives of ordinary people. This essay fully agrees with this statement and will examine potential supporting arguments.

On the one hand, earlier technology breakthroughs are known for their disruptive yet beneficial changes. One of the prominent examples could be electricity, discovered in the 18th century. Prior to this breakthrough, people could not easily perform tasks after sunset, and they did not have running water at their homes. However, after its discovery, humans got the opportunity to have light at night, use appliances, and improve sanitation and hygiene in their households. Another example is the discovery of some conventional medicines, such as vaccines. This innovation allowed people to prevent previously deadly diseases, leading to increased life expectancy and improved public health. Consequently, these scientific breakthroughs changed human lives completely, enhancing welfare and health conditions.

On the other hand, it is argued that modern innovations do not improve people’s living conditions as significantly. One example is the annual release of new smartphone models, each with minor upgrades that offer slight improvements in usability. They do not benefit people as much as preceding breakthroughs did. Another example can be up-to-date devices, for example, headphones, that are made for use in the water. They will not contribute to a better quality of life for the majority but simply benefit swimmers. As a result, these developments do not significantly enhance the overall quality of life of society or address pressing global challenges to the same extent as past advancements.

In conclusion, I fully agree that technological developments of the past had a more profound and lasting impact on people’s lives compared to the innovations we see today. While earlier technological advancements revolutionized society, improving the standard of living and public health, modern innovations have not had the same transformative impact yet.