"Education in rural areas is often not as good as in cities. Why is that? What do you think can be done about it?"

Nowadays, some individuals argue that education in rural regions is often worse than in cities. This trend has become serious in social situations. This essay will discuss why that is and how we can solve it.

To begin with, economic issues always exist in rural areas. As we know, key schools are usually built in cities, so governments are more likely to spend more money supporting these schools. Compared to these schools, rural places don’t have enough funds to construct their schools. For example, rural schools usually lack sufficient classrooms and libraries, which influence students’ learning environment. In addition, qualified teachers don’t tend to work in rural places since of poor salaries and facilities. Although governments have pushed some policies to attract teachers to work in rural places, it seems to have no effect in bringing them to the countryside.

Moreover, it is of vital importance to handle the problems because education needs equality. Governments should provide enough financial assistance or subsidies to schools and low-income families, ensuring children can afford books, uniforms, and school fees. There is a good example in Xinjiang, which is a remote place in China. A boy who was talented only stayed home to help his mom work as his family was poor. When the government gave them financial support and sent him to school, he became the top among the students. Furthermore, it is effective for schools to offer incentives or bonuses for teachers to work in rural regions, such as higher salaries and better accommodation. If salaries are attractive and difficult to refuse, skilled teachers will come to these places.

In conclusion, a bad educational environment is an obvious problem in current society, which needs all of us to make more efforts to alleviate this situation.