Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

In this present world, education stands as an important pillar in society. It is even deemed as a non-refutable right for humans since being educated allows them to live in a community and gain knowledge. That is the reason why I believe that schools should be free regardless of people’s background. Analysing the equality it will guarantee between modest and richer families alongside the future impact on economic growth will prove this.

At the onset, people would be treated equitably regardless of their wages. This can be exemplified by the fact that students, who cannot afford expensive school fees, can get a complete access to education. Enrolling on an institution will no longer be exclusively reserved to wealthy individuals, but instead, be accessible to everyone in order to ensure fairness for all citizens. This approach is seen as a useful means to guarantee justice between modest and richer people. Therefore, institutions should be free to make them affordable for all pupils.

Another reason why learning has to be costless is the fact that it will positively impact economic growth. Indeed, as an increasing number of students will graduate, they are likely to pursue advanced studies and have a degree. This will enable them to have an occupation and pay taxes. If a larger number of pupils have access to education, the amount of taxes paid will be higher and therefore, will make the economy stronger. Consequently, making learning free of charge would be beneficial economically.

In conclusion, school should be costless because it would guarantee fair access for everyone as well as a pivotal role in ensuring a strong economy. Therefore, I firmly agree that making education affordable without any consideration on people’s income, will be advantageous for individuals.