Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that education should be regarded as a fundamental human right and be made freely available to everyone, irrespective of their financial circumstances. I totally agree with this statement because equal access to education can benefit both individuals and society as a whole.

The primary reason why I support this view is that free education provides equal opportunities for everyone. Many individuals are born and raised in poor families that cannot afford education. Everyone should have access to education, as talent does not depend on wealth; therefore, money should not determine who gets to study or not. Moreover, free education can help break the cycle of poverty. As a result, institutions should be free to make education affordable for all pupils.

Another reason why learning has to be free is the fact that it will positively impact economic growth. With free education available to all citizens, the country will have more qualified specialists, such as doctors, engineers, and teachers, in the future. In addition, students who graduate from universities that provided free education are likely to set up businesses that will eventually positively affect the country’s economy. Indeed, as an increasing number of students graduate, they are likely to pursue advanced studies and earn degrees, which will enable them to have occupations and pay taxes. Consequently, making education free can be economically beneficial.

In conclusion, schools and universities should be free because it would ensure equal access for all and play a key role in ensuring a strong economy. Therefore, I completely agree that making education affordable for everyone, without considering people’s income, will be advantageous for all individuals.