Ensuring that children have regular physical exercise should be the responsibility of parents and therefore schools should not waste valuable time having sport lesson as part of the curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a notion that the responsibility of monitoring children’s fitness level should lie on parents, so school should not incorporate sport lessons into the curriculum. However, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint since schools play a pivotal role in encouraging children to get regular physical exercise.

The belief that parents should be ones who make sure their children engaging in physical activity is not entirely rational. In today’s world, children spend their quality of time at school, so schools have a strong power and opportunity to incentivize children to keep their fitness level. In other words, influence through schools can (more) be effective compared to parents, as the conducive and disciplined environment facilitates the promotion of getting daily exercises as a habit. To illustrate, if teachers inspire pupils to take exercises as a form of relaxation during breaks, they will develop a strong behavior that persists in doing physical exercises on a daily basis. Critics argue that schools should focus solely on academic pursuits, and it is the duty of parents to devote their time in order to pay attention the health of children. Nevertheless, this argument is not as justifiable as it is claimed to be. In fact, schools are in charge of children’s overall well-being, ensuring that they nurture individuals who are not only well- rounded but also mentally and physically healthy.

Furthermore, engaging in physical activity at school provides unique opportunities for pupils. First and foremost, these activities go beyond health benefits, as they can foster essential skills, particularly teamwork. This is because schoolchildren may do exercises diligently in synchronized manner by following their peers so that they do not miss out social interactions, and sport lessons. As a result, it can enhance camaraderie, collaboration and in the meantime, children can reap health benefits. Take Japan as a striking example, where sport classes has become an integral part of school curriculum, attributing collaborative environment, and fit learners. Opponents may contend that involving physical activities with many children might lead to conflicts, and therefore parents should be accountable for their childrens’ exercises at home. However, this warning, in my view, is an exaggeration as school administration enforces safety rules within the schools. Therefore, having sport classes and regulating children’s fitness level at schools can be effective way to maintain children’s health in a good state.

In conclusion, although parents should be responsible for their children’s welfare, it requires school intervention. Hence, integrating sport lessons into the academic curriculum can empower children to get a habit of taking exercises regularly as well as improve coordination.