Environmental problems are too big for individual countries or individual people to address. In other words, we have reached the stage where the only way to protect the environment is at an international level. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental issues are never easily resolved by a single entity within a short period of time. As far as I am concerned, with due measures done by the appropriate entities altogether, environment problems can be solved within a country by the efforts of its citizens.

Admittedly, sometimes the issue of environmental protection can be better discussed at an international level. Firstly, a variety of nations may find opportunities to cooperate with each other when they have a dialogue on the measures to preserve the ecosystem. Global collaboration provides a platform for different countries to discuss their own difficulties and consult for help. Moreover, the international-level cooperation is monitored by higher-level organisations, such as the United Nations. Those organisations may directly allocate resources to the places where extra assistance in ecological preservation is needed, during which process much time and human energy can be saved.

However, I still believe that with due effort, individual nations alone can solve the issue of environmental protection. Firstly, the government ought to mobilise its citizens to take actions in eco-friendly behaviours. According to research, only 30% of urban residents have been actively involved in protecting the environment on their own. If the government could launch various campaigns to attract the citizens in eco-friendly activities, the environmental problems would be resolved to a greater extent. In addition, universities and schools are suggested to take their responsibilities to publicise the significance of environmental protection. With these efforts, the public should be deeply aware what the consequences would be like if the surroundings they live in were to be jeopardised. It could be noticed widely that without clean environment, residents’ daily exercises might be severely disturbed. As a result, people would put their energy in lending a helping hand in ecological-related problems.

In conclusion, while ecological-related issues can be discussed on a global platform, it is still possible that environment problems are resolved by individual nations and on a personal basis.