Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that it is to charge politicians with environmental protection, not civilians because they just can do too little. From my perspective, individuals play an important role as well as politicians in protecting the environment.

On the one hand, the government should be changed with the duty. Firstly, they have rights to engender widely influential and effective changes such as implementing laws and policies. For instance, politicians can impose a ban on discharge of untreated emissions and waste water into the environment to improve air quality. Secondly, there are several problems that only the government can tackle and hardly an individual can do. In order for serious problems such as global warming, prolonged droughts, to be effectively tackled which requires the effort and cooperation of politicians and large environment organizations.

On the other hand, the role of individuals is crucial as well as politicians. Firstly, without the public’s adherence and cooperation, the government can not achieve the goals. For instance, if civilians keep throwing litter in the wrong places or let the trash overflowing, regardless of the government’s regulations, the problem of waste will never be mitigated. Secondly, great differences can be made by collectively changing their habits, such as using public transport instead of motorbike to reduce air pollution. As a result, although the actions of an individual are small, they still play an essential role in collective change.

In conclusion, I believe both politicians and civilians should be charged with environmental protection to create an eco-friendly society.