Environmental protection should be the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As environmental problems are skyrocketing on a global scale these days, many suppose that the governmental policies should be responsible for those problems and not individuals as individuals have minor impacts. I do not agree with this opinion.

To begin with, the government, of course, does have more influence than individuals and a higher possibility of success in projects to improve the environment’s quality. But it is believed that it is unwise to neglect the inhabitants’ efforts only because their chances of success is lower than the governor’s. Both politicians’ plans and individuals’ collective efforts in preventing the environment’s loss are essential in their own ways. The government holds the ability to control big activities in the region such as prohibiting plants not to dump toxicities into the river or providing more recycling bin in public, while individuals may carry out more practical, everyday-happening tasks like not dropping litters and actively recycling.

Keeping in mind that the duty of protecting the environment is of the government only is also not a healthy way of thinking. People who find the opinion reasonable may only depend on the politicians’ moves and not take action themselves even though it is their own living environs. This way of thinking may be passed down from generations to generations or spreading around the surroundings, making it easier for environmental problems to continue rising in the future and bury the world in disasters and pollution at the end.

In summary, whereas the given opinion maybe partly reasonable, its message and what it encourages is not sound in comprehensive view as it would not fit any situation of any country all over the world in today’s highly- polluted world. Protecting the environment is a worldwide complication which requires collective efforts from both governors and individuals. As the environment can be described as our living habitat, so having a sense of environmental protection is vital for every single one of us.