Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Health service is one of the basic needs of every individual and government should facilitate it to all its citizen. I do agree to the statement but I think for some countries it will not be possible to provide health insurance to everyone. In this essay, I will share my reasons to support my point of view.

As every individual pay taxes and abide the law, it is the responsibility of the government to look after their citizens health coverage. By doing this, the government will be able to take its people into their confidence and they will willingly pay taxes. For example, Australian government provides health coverage to all its citizens regardless of their financial income. Hence, the people happily pay all their taxes and support the government when they have to take difficult measures.

For some countries, like Pakistan, it will not be possible to provide free health service to everyone as the government has limited budget and they have to ensure that all sectors like Educations, Transport, Defence are all covered equally. In such countries often non profit organizations work together with government by setting up pharmacies and laboratories. These NGOs provide free of cost medical tests and the medicines are also given at lower price as compared to the market demand.

To conclude, I will say that if government is not able to fully cover the health coverage of all its citizen, they atleast should allocate such amount that can atleast cover the old citizens health expenses. They can also go in public private partnership