Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The conversation about whether or not every country should have free health care is quite controversial and complex. Many countries provide free health care to its citizens as they prioritize the optimal health and wellness of their residents. Other countries just simply cannot afford to provide free health care, and if they do, the medical experience is subpar. However, I agree that the government has a duty of care to its citizens and should as best as possible aim to provide adequate health coverage, and medical facilities to ensure the saftey and optimal health of its residents.

One might argue that nothing is free because someone has to absorb the total cost of this ‘free’ item. Since the general operations of a country are funded by taxes, free health care would be more burdensome on tax paying citizens. While i agree that world-class healthcare can be expensive, I believe that the prosperity of a nation is dependent on how healthy its citizens are. Therfore the government should invest in campaigns that encourage healthy eating and dieting practices as a part of the free health service. For example, if residents are not knowledgable about the best dietary practices, and do not have access to healthcare, this may result in a negative domino effect on the ecomoy as there would be a lot of ill people who are incapable of working and contributing to the growth and development of the economy due to progessive illnesses.

Furthermore, many people believe that each person should be responsible for their own treatments because it will minimize the backlogs at hospitals. Free health care results in an extended wait time for patients and proves to be disadvantageous for people with more adverse injuries who need immediate medical attention. While I can acknowledge that free and easily accessible healthcare may cause a huge backlog, I have to consider the issue from a moral standpoint. A person who is in dire need of medical attention should not be turned away due to being unable to afford medical treatment. We must restore humanity and what it means to be humane. Not everyone will be able to afford healthcare due to their own financial constraints, and refusing treatment to these people, may result in loss of life. For example, in many third world countries, one in every three persons that is unable to afford health care end up dead as a result.

I wholeheartedly believe that the goverment should aim to provide free healthcare via hospitals and walk in clinics. They should invest in medical facilities and training medical professionals so that they are equipped to provide the best healthcare for its citizens, no matter the cost. This will reduce the mortality rate and help to promote the country’s growth and development.