Every culture, throughout time, has recorded its history in one way or another. In what ways can history be passed on to the next generation? Why is history important to society?

Even though the time has passed, history can be recalled and informed in many ways to others. I think it is evident to convey it through pictures and recorded videos. Moreover, I also argue that it is significant to taught history to precedensestors as it can develop sense of gratitude.

First, it can be passed through pictures. Historical photographies are the most evident media to taught the next generations because they can embodi and give direct illustration at the moment when the events take place. As a result, people can acknowledge and imagine the precise situation from the events they want to discover. Take, for example, the picture of Indonesia Proclamation Day in 1945. Even though from any historical textbooks, Indonesians already aware about the Proclamation process, it is through the existed photograph people in present times finally can see in details about the place, clothes and vibes when the event occurred. Thus, it improve the opportunity to learn certain historical periods is not only restrained by the written text but they also can imagine it through the depiction of pictures.

Second, through recorded videos. Compared to pictures that are motionless, videos can portray the events comprehensively and precisely. Since recorded videos are supported with motion figures and sounds, there is a likelihood that people will get more information and details which can be useful for the next generations. For instance, with the recorded video of Indonesia’s first presidential election in 1945, the present government can adopt its methods to conduct the following presidential election.

Reflecting from the fact that history can be inherited throughout generations, I firmly believe that it is significant for society to acknowledge past events that coexist with them because it can improve their gratitude feelings. In fact, some countries are inevitably have to experience critical times in order to reach their current position as a developed or freedom country. By learning history; however, people will certainly be reminded about that times along with sacrifices that have been made until they are amended from deprived life. Thus it makes them to develop a sense of gratefulness toward their present life.

In conclusion, I think history can be inherited in many ways but the foremost way to tell next generations about previous events is through pictures, which can directly illustrate the events, and recorded videos that can convey it more precise and thorough. Because of that possibility, I also believe that it is still significant to taught the next generations about history, as it can develop sense of gratitude toward their present life.