Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that throughout the world numerous languages are disappearing year by year. Some believe that it is not that important, as life can be much easier without language barriers. I strongly disagree with this view because the extinction of languages may cause cultural erosion and loss of variety in society.

Having a single language for everyone can be really helpful to convey knowledge to everyone without language related obstacles. By the disappearance of some less important or infamous languages, there are less certain languages remaining, thereby facilitating communication and sharing their own knowledge or opinions with others. Consequently, it boosts collective understanding and strengthens bonds between different nations and cultures. It can be exemplified by group of students or people who know the same language in common and share information with each other easily and develop not only their knowledge but also innovations that can be useful worldwide. In this sense, talking in the same language plays pivotal role in making breakthroughs.

However, dying out of languages may cause the loss of intangible legacy which is the most crucial about country and culture. Since language is one of the best expressions of community’s history and traditions, deterioration and disappearance of languages may erode the identity of culture, which may even result in children being unaware of their national folklore and rituals which is the most vital part of their identity. Therefore, for individuals saving and being loyal to their mother tongue serves as a powerful to save their own personality.

In summary, even though reduction of languages makes it easier to communicate and unite, I firmly believe that linguistic diversity makes life more interesting and maintains their historical culture.