Every year several languages die out. Some people think that is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. Do you agree or disagree?

There are several languages disappearing annually, and some people argue that this is a positive trend because there will be fewer languages in the world so life will be easier. This essay completely agrees with this view because fewer languages means easier communication between nations, as well as giving the different cultures something in common.

The first main reason why reducing the number of languages is a good thing is that this will make communication between nations more convenient. A smaller number of languages means that there is no need to attend language institutions and spend significant amounts of time and money before thinking of getting employed, studying, or starting a business in a different country. Therefore, the cultural exchange, economy and education will be enhanced. For instance, countries that share the same language, such as the UK and the US, find it easier to cooperate and thrive in different fields together.

Another fundamental advantage is that fewer languages will improve social cohesion and prevent wars and conflicts. When there are less distinct languages across the globe, more nations, groups, and different cultures will have shared languages. Hence, it will be easier to find something that unites them and develop a feeling of belonging to some sort of bigger category, mitigating disagreements between them. In the Arabian world, for example, because all Arab countries speak the same language, they deal with each other like brothers and consider all the themselves as a single nation.

In conclusion, having a smaller number of languages in the world can be beneficial for two main reasons. The first one is reducing the effort required to communicate between the different nations, which can be reflected in the cooperative approach to improve in many sectors. The second one is enhancing the relationships between nations and cultures.