‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their money to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

Charities are organizations that support less privileged persons, and are usually funded by donations from individuals and organisations. However, everyone should not have to donate a fixed sum from their income towards charities, and I will explain why in this essay.

Firstly, donation to charity is not a compulsory activity, this is usually done benevolently and willingly. The idea that everyone should donate, might make it a compulsion or some form of levy. This will put financial pressure on lower income individuals who are barely surviving at their income level.

Secondly, There may be some people who consider donating large sums of money. This fixed amount will only limit them, which will reduce the potential amounts charities could be receiving and hence be a drawback on the positive change achievable.

It is true that charities depend on funding from givers, and if everyone donated it would significantly assist the needy and disadvantaged. Not everyone who earns an income can afford to part with specified amount instead the wealthy. Also, high networth individuals should be made to contribute a princely proportion of their takings, also organizations which declare huge profits should be encouraged to act in similar fashion towards programs and communities which are underserved.

In conclusion, people should be free to donate whatever they are comfortable with. They should be allowed to decide what amounts to give to charity, if they donate at all. This act of donating to charity should not be limited to any specific amount and should not be demanded of everyone.