‘Everybody should donate a fixed amount of their money to support charity.’ How far do you share this viewpoint?

TASK 2

It is frequently encouraged that individuals donate a predetermined amount of their wages to charity. However, this statement seems unsustainable because compassion and humanity cannot be forced.

Firstly, most folks need stable and sufficient revenue to support their well-being. In the case that governments set up a certain amount or proportion of the paycheck to be used for charity, people seem to receive less income than usual. Due to this circumstance, the welfare of society appears to be declining. For instance, in a hypothetical case where the authority sets the charity fee as 5% of their monthly wages and the minimum wage in that state is 3 million rupiahs, it means that an individual needs to donate 150 thousand rupiahs, which tends to be significant for several people. A second issue is the moral issue. Social work is considered to require sincerity. If someone did not genuinely donate their money, the donation would not have a significant moral impact on society. By this, we mean that a social action should come from their own willingness.

While it may be correct that this policy has some positive aspects, most notably increasing public awareness regarding the importance of humanitarian funding and improvement in some sectors, such as the environment. It still appears to be the case, however, that for many individuals, these benefits are outweighed by monetary and moral issues arising from this notion.

In summary, the public is not able to be pressured to perform humanitarian actions, mainly ones related to funds, because they tend to prioritize their own needs and the perspective that if this kind of thing is being forced, there would be no moral compassion from this activity. This is not to say that this idea is nonsense, but it appears to be hard to implement these days.