Failure is a proof that the desire wasn't strong enough. To what extent do you agree?

In modern society, there is a widespread belief that correlates failing to lacking in desire. While I acknowledge that a weak desire can have a role in failure, I strongly disagree that it is the leading component of failing, as circumstances and lack of skills have a much more important role.

Failure is the result of various factors, with one of the major ones being circumstances – or “luck” as some might call it. No matter how strong a person’s desire might be, if they are not in a favourable situation, then they simply do not stand much of a chance at succeeding. This, in no way indicates a lacking desire, since even those with strongest desires have become victims of failure due to the odds not being in their favours. For instance, many writers do not get to publish their books because their works keep getting rejected by publishing houses. One notable case is that of the American writer Anna Jacksons, whose book “A dancing heart” still remains as a mere draft, due to being rejected by all 46 publishing organisations that the author applied to.

Another reason why failure does not equal to weak ambition has to do with the fact that sometimes, it’s due to low skill levels. A person can have the greatest desire in the world towards their goals, but it’s futile if their abilities needed to achieve the objectives are insufficient. In fact, statistically, when people fail, it is more likely to be due to inadequate competency, rather than desire. This is backed up by the research conducted in 2017, where numerous companies were interviewed regarding what makes them reject potential employees. Over 70% of the employers reported that it had to do with them not meeting the required competency levels.

In conclusion, although desire can be an element that affects success, considering how even the highly passionate can experience failure, I disagree that not succeeding is an indicator of low aspiration, since skill expertise and circumstances being in one’s favour play a more crucial part.