Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in.

It seems that the main function of fashion nowadays is to gain more profits for brands. It is said that we should wear clothes that we prefer more ourselves instead of focusing on keeping up with the latest trends. I fully agree with this idea.

Since the appearance of fashion in the lives of nobility in the late Middle Ages, its main purpose remains the same: boost the sells of the product for manufacturers. Clothes that could be used for decades now have to be replaced every several years, if not every year of even each season. Otherwise, you are going to be perceived as an outsider from the society.

But in our globalised world such atavism does not only look ridiculous, but also is harmful for the environment and the population. Billions of clothing pieces are produced annually, just to be thrown to landfills the very next year labeled as the «retrograde» and outdated. Modern fashion does not only feed the fire of consumerism, but also empties our wallets on things we don’t even find enjoyable to wear. Therefore, it is for our best to stop judging others based on what they dress in and wear that, what is more attractive for us!

In conclusion, it is clear that we should abolish worrying if we are up to date with latest trends and start wearing what we feel is better suited for us, not what some popular magazine or TV program considers so. Even if sometimes it means going against the tide.