Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that in today world, many people now prefer using smartphone or computers to take note, writing by hand using a pen or pencil has become outdated. This phenomenon can be attributed to a number or reasons.

Firstly, the development of technology devices such as tablet or computer is one of the main reason for this phenomenon. People now prefer to use these devices to take note rather than using a notebook. This is due to the efficiency that it brings, typing is much more faster than hand writing, people can save a lot of time while working or studying. Another reason could be that our communication platforms has changed, we are now communicate with each other on social media, which does not require hand writing. In the field of education, with the development of technology in education, many highschool student in developed countries are even provided tablet when going to school. Children are exposed to these devices from a young age, which makes the future generation more familiar with tablet than notebook, and that is the reason why fewer and fewer people in the future write by hands.

In my perspective, I believe this might bring both benefits and drawbacks. On the positive aspect, digital writing can improve people working efficiency, this can be especially beneficial for work that time is crucial. Writing digitally can also make iit easier to to store and share documents. One other advantages is that this could help protect the environment due to the reduction in the use of paper, which lessen the amont of trees exploited. However, hand writing is a part of culture heritage and personal expression, for example, Vietnam traditional calligraphy, its decline may be seen as a loss of traditional skills associated with hand writing documents. Besides, hand writing involve creativity and individuality in how people form their own way of writing. Digital fonts cannot illustrated this uniqueness of each individual.

To conclude, there are many reasons lead to the decline in hand writing, technology development accounts for the vital part. While this brings various advantages, it also have some drawbacks that people need to consider. Proper solution can be made to improve the impact of this phenomenon.