Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, pencil or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

A significant number of people today prefer to write with technology devices which leads to the de-escalating number of usages in traditional equipment such as pens and pencils. The convenience of technology is one of the main reasons behind this trend. In this essay, I will discuss whether it is a positive or negative development for society.

The decline in writing by hand can lead to various reasons. One of the main reasons is due to the advancement in technology. With cutting-edge devices such as laptops and mobile phones, people can communicate, type words much faster, share, and edit their documents easily. Therefore, it is no longer necessary for people to carry a notebook, pencils, pens around or communicate by handwritten letters. In addition, by using modern devices people can multitask as the people today have been stuck in busy schedule and may have not much time to write by hand.

Regardless of the benefits I mentioned, this trend also brings negative consequences. Individuals might become slow writers when it comes to write by hand. As traditional writing equipment require papers and pencils which was made of trees, people in the past cut down many trees which cause animals habitats in the wildlife destroyed.

In conclusion, technology improvements and changes in lifestyle are the main reason to the decreasing number of people using traditional writing tools. In my opinion, the decline of handwriting is a positive development and is not the only issue that should be worried about. Instead, by reducing the use of papers and pencils are beneficial for the environment.