Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

In the digital age, traditional writing tools, such as a pen, pencil or brush, are felt out of favour. This essay will elaborate on the underlying causes of this phenomenon before concluding whether it reflects a positive or negative trend.

The ubiquity of smart devices and the digitalization of many sectors have led to a rapid decline in handwriting communication. This is mainly because digital devices, such as laptops, smartphones, and tablets, offer many useful applications for note-taking with unparalleled speed, efficiency and convenience. For instance, the transition to computer-based assessments, such as the IELTS, has streamlined the evaluation process, emphasizing computer skills over manual handwriting abilities.

From my perspective, this phenomenon contains both merits and demerits. On the one hand, digital communication enhances the efficiency of writing. This can benefit a multitude of people who struggle with their illegible cursive handwriting, allowing them to communicate more clearly and effectively. On the other hand, the lack of handwriting can have detrimental impacts on cognitive development. For example, in many countries, including Vietnam, handwriting holds immense cultural significance, encapsulated in the saying: “Handwriting, Personality” which means handwriting can disclose many aspects of a person, such as personality, emotions, and even social status. The decline in manual writing diminishes opportunities for individuals to express their uniqueness and character through their handwriting script, thereby losing an avenue for self-expression.

In conclusion, the situation of people giving preference to digital communication over manual handwriting can be attributed to the proliferation of portable devices like smartphones and tablets. In my opinion, this phenomenon is multifaceted; while it can provide people with efficiency and convenience, it can also deprive them of the opportunity for self-expression.