Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen, a pencil, or brush. What are the reasons for this? Is the decline in writing by hand a positive or negative development?

With current cutting-edge technologies, people tend to create text on electric devices, notably computers, smartphones, and televisions, which has led to a decline in the use of traditional pieces of equipment such as pens, brushes, and pencils. Numerous benefits offered by these modern inventions are also the main factors that encourage people to use them instead of conventional ones. From my point of view, it is a positive transition, not only in terms of the enhancement of productivity but with regard to the feasibility of long-distant working and communication. In this essay, reasons for this movement and several examples to back up my statement will be presented in detail.

To begin with, there are different reasons that account for this phenomenon including an indispensable development that encourages people to adopt new innovative approaches and the downsides of outdated means of information exchange. When it comes to the benefits of this trend, it is undeniable that people are capable of completing tasks in higher quantity and quality thanks to the blooming technology in this era. For example, by replacing handwritten letters with wireless messages and video calls, data is sent incredibly quickly and responses can be received instantaneously, which boosts the working procedure, taking less time to achieve the results.

Besides, since globalisation has become increasingly prevalent and important for every country and individual, the need for establishing an overseas network has urged people to rely on modern platforms that foster remote meetings. To illustrate, a global conference among multiple governments can be held successfully without requiring too much time, which cannot be done by solely exchanging letters. Were it not for the emergence of the Internet, it would probably take days, or even months to fulfill a simple conversation.

In a nutshell, the fall in the use of conventional handwriting equipment is mainly caused by the birth of more modern ways of transmitting ideas, which makes it more convenient and faster to communicate through further distances. It is vital that users know how to take advantage of what they have been offered to make their job come to fruition.